77th  Independence Day (15th August 2023)
  • 15 Aug 2023

77th Independence Day (15th August 2023)

The 77th Independence Day was celebrated with great zeal and enthusiasm at Noorul Islam Centre for Higher Education, Kumaracoil on August 15, 2023 at 9:20 a.m. in the Main Building Quadrangle. The proceedings were marked by a series of dignified and patriotic activities that reflected the spirit of freedom and unity. The event commenced with a warm welcome extended to the gathering by Dr. J.P. Jayan, Director of the Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC). The National Flag was hoisted by Dr. P. Thirumalvalavan, Registrar, NICHE. As a part of honoring freedom fighters as “Veeron Ka Vandan” Sepoy P. Krishnan, who involved in the OP Cactus Lilly operation was honored in a special ceremony by Dr. P. Thirumalvalavan, the Registrar, NICHE. The core of the celebration was the Pledge-Taking Ceremony, centered around the theme of "Panch Pran Pledge." The participants solemnly pledged their allegiance to the nation, vowing to uphold the essence of the Hon’ble Prime Minister's vision. The pledge encompassed five fundamental commitments: building a developed India through individual contributions, eradicating any remnants of a colonial mindset, fostering pride in the promotion and preservation of India's rich cultural heritage, fulfilling duties and responsibilities towards the nation, and honoring the sacrifices of the nation's brave-hearts while actively contributing to its defence and progress. Following the pledge, the "Mitti Anthem," resonating with patriotic fervor, was sung by all. A Pottery and Sculpture making competition was organized exclusively for NICHE students on August 11, 2023. Dr. Y. Stalin Jose, HoD, Dept. of Civil Engineering, NICHE coordinated the event. A total of 23 students participated and showcased their artistic skills through pottery and sculpture. The winners were announced as follows: The first prize was awarded collectively to Archa B S (B.Sc. Cardiac), S P Utra Karthika (B.Sc. Forensic Science), Sherinth (B.Sc. Forensic Science), and Abhirami SS (B.Sc. Forensic Science). The second prize went to Anukiruba G S, Amurtha, and Abijahisha from the B.Sc. Forensic Science program. The third prize recipients were Pratheesh, C Ajin Jacob, and Shargin from the Department of Civil Engineering. Dr. P. Thirumalvalavan, the Registrar, NICHE distributed the certificate for the winners and runners.

Share Now :

Your Page Title